Podium at the 2017 ITU World Triathlon Grand Final Rotterdam

43 Triathlon South Africa age group triathletes had the honour of participating in the 2017 ITU World Triathlon Grand Final in Rotterdam.

Bryan Difford claimed his first gold medal in the 30-34 age group after finishing in 5th position in the 2016 ITU World Triathlon Grand Final in Cozumel, Mexico. The competition was fierce with many South African age group athletes posting excellent times in the cold and inclement Rotterdam. Gareth Marquiss (20-24) and Roger Mortlock (30-34) claimed 5th positions, with Jean Marais (60-64) in 7th and Rohan Meyer (25-29) in 8th.

Four of our younger triathletes (1 Junior male and 3 Junior female athletes) participated in the Junior category and two athletes in the U23 male category, in tough conditions on a very technical course.

Stan Andrews achieved a very respectable 9th position in the Elite PTS4 paratriathlon event moving him into 9th position on the ITU World Rankings in this category. Paratriathletes Charl Parkin and Sebastian Crawford participated in the Open PTS3 category achieving gold and silver respectively.

Below are the age group results for the Triathlon South African team.  For the full results: http://www.triathlon.org/results/result/2017_itu_world_triathlon_grand_final_rotterdam

Konrad Marais6702:22:3320-24 Male AG
Gareth Marquiss501:58:2820-24 Male AG
Nicholas Tinkler1902:03:2620-24 Male AG
Herculaas Cronje3302:07:5320-24 Male AG
Francois Mienie3602:08:4920-24 Male AG
Darren Marquiss2002:03:2920-24 Male AG
Ross Belman1802:02:2120-24 Male AG
Travis Mcgrath2202:05:2220-24 Male AG
Dylan Kruger1502:01:1820-24 Male AG
Mfanufikile Radebe3901:13:3020-24 Male AG Sprint
Mlandeni Radebe5301:21:0720-24 Male AG Sprint
Samantha Summerscales6302:35:2625-29 Female AG
Rinel Hugo7402:38:5525-29 Female AG
Kirsty Standing5802:33:1825-29 Female AG
Marthinus Kemp6802:16:2325-29 Male AG
Haydn Corke2802:05:3425-29 Male AG
Nolan Steele1802:02:5725-29 Male AG
Mhlengi Gwala4402:09:2025-29 Male AG
Rohan Meyer801:59:3325-29 Male AG
Alex Waldauer3002:05:3925-29 Male AG
Candice Hepburn3802:28:3230-34 Female AG
Eulali Vander Vyver3902:28:4730-34 Female AG
Bryan Difford101:56:5130-34 Male AG
Leon Naude5602:12:5630-34 Male AG
Roger Mortlock502:00:4630-34 Male AG
Aletta Kukard4702:32:5535-39 Female AG
Robyn Schlebusch Green3802:31:1740-44 Female AG
Robert Stewart1302:06:0540-44 Male AG
Mark Kotlar10102:25:0240-44 Male AG
David Swart10602:27:2840-44 Male AG
Natasja Ambrosio6902:48:5945-49 Female AG
David Tew3802:12:1445-49 Male AG
Gunther Bargon5502:16:0145-49 Male AG
Mike Kane-Smith2102:08:5845-49 Male AG
Petruschka Constancon2702:34:1050-54 Female AG
Chris Thorpe7202:24:5550-54 Male AG
Danie Retief2702:15:1150-54 Male AG
Lynette Fischer4203:14:0655-59 Female AG
Frederick Hamman8002:34:0755-59 Male AG
Sharon Ball3402:07:5860-64 Female AG Sprint
Jean Marais702:21:1660-64 Male AG
Abel Van Der Merwe4202:57:4865-69 Male AG
Shanae Williams3001:05:07Junior Female
Jayme-Sue VermaasDNFDNFJunior Female
Amber Schlebusch5201:07:48Junior Female
Jamie Riddle6501:03:01Junior Male
Sebastian Crawford201:35:55PTS3 Male Open
Charl Parkin101:28:37PTS3 Male Open
Stan Andrews901:15:50PTS4 Male
David Jones B3DSQDSQPTVI Male Open
Dylan NortjeDNFDNFU23 Male
Keegan Cooke5802:05:36U23 Male

Photo credit: ITU Media

© MOBII SYSTEMS 2016. All rights reserved   |   Terms of use